Mission Statement

The mission of Sculpture Evergreen, formerly known as Art for the Mountain Community, is to maintain a program of art acquisition that will beautify public buildings and open spaces in the mountain area of Jefferson County and encourage the expression and appreciation of art through education and other public activities and programs.

A Historical Perspective

Sculpture Evergreen was incorporated in November 1994 as Art for the Mountain Community with the purpose of placing high-quality, enduring art in public places in the mountain area of Jefferson County. Over the last 20 years, our focus has been exclusively on public sculpture in the Evergreen area. The Board of Directors and the Advisory Board believe that Sculpture Evergreen more accurately depicts our mission. In January of 2015, we officially became Sculpture Evergreen.

Large, commissioned, permanent sculptures

The organization's first project was to commission a large, original piece of sculpture to place outside the Evergreen Lake House. The piece, "Spirit of the Land" by Denver sculptor Madeline Wiener, was selected from submissions by 41 applicants and carried out in cooperation with the Evergreen Park and Recreation District. It was installed in the summer of 1996, and in 1997 two matching limestone benches with a bronze plaque acknowledging major donors, including SCFD, were installed.

In 1998, the next major project was a large bronze sculpture, "The Foreman", by Evergreen sculptor Laura Mehmert. It was placed outside the Hiwan Homestead Museum in Evergreen, with the cooperation of Jefferson County Open Space and the Jefferson County Historical Society. A year later a ceremony celebrated the placing of a bronze plaque carrying the names of major donors, and dedicating the sculpture to the memory of Joan Landly, an Evergreen artist and an important figure in the history of the Homestead.

Annual Sculpture Walk

In 1999 Sculpture Evergreen began its popular Sculpture Walk in the downtown area of Evergreen, and later expanded the Walk to encompass more of Evergreen's beautiful landscape. It continues to draw art lovers to Evergreen for its annual display of sculpture.

Guide By Cell: Viewers with cell phones have access to a self-guided tour at their own pace. Each sculpture sports a plaque with the number 303-562-0435, and a unique number for each sculpture such as 6 or 101. The caller is directed to give this unique number followed by #. The caller will hear more about that particular sculpture, the artist's inspiration, what to look for and why. On Sculpture Walk plaques, the viewer can also find directions on leaving their thoughts in either a voicemail or by text. One can take a cell phone audio tour of the sculptures by using the Guide by Cell feature.

All sculptures are for sale.

Continued Placement of Permanent Sculptures

Sculpture Evergreen was proud to announce its third major piece of public sculpture in 2001. The sculptor, Ivan Kosta of Colorado Springs, won the commissioned competition with his piece, "Spirit of the Rockies", which was placed in the Tanoa Open Space property at the corner of Evergreen Parkway and Stagecoach Boulevard. The same procedures have been followed throughout our history allowing us to place "Kelle III" in 2003, "Setting the Pace", "The Firefighter" in 2006, "Peace" in 2008 and "Bear Chair" in 2012.

For more information and to make a donation to Sculpture Evergreen visit Colorado Gives on our Support page.

Sculpture Evergreen has purchased, co-purchased or facilitated the placement of twenty-nine permanent pieces throughout our community.

Sculpture Evergreen Officers

Bil Slaughter - President
Candy Decker - Vice President
Jim Kreider - Treasurer
Liz Peyton - Secretary

Sculpture Evergreen Board of Directors

Logan Boone
Sue Daley
Candy Decker
Georgia Dickey
Marilyn DuVon
Joe Glasmire
Dale Glover
Louise Heern
Mark Johnston
Jim Kreider
Anna Marie Nelson
Liz Peyton
Tricia Rosenthal
Bill Slaughter
Beverly Snyder
Jane Stewart
Bob Zavodsky

Sculpture Evergreen Advisory Board

Susie Beaton
Bob Benson
Sydney Bernard-Hogling
Brewster Caesar
Becky Cunningham
Carol Dobbs
Peter Eggers
Michael Jacoby
Karen Lindsay
Harold Linke
Joan Manchester
Eric Maule
Michael McGoldrick
Pat Newman
Al Patten
Gail Riley
Phil Shanley
Sam Smith
Tom Ware
Paul Cockrel (Legal Advisor)

Sculpture Evergreen Committees

Advisory Board Liaison, Carol Dobbs
Chamber of Commerce Representative, Karen Lindsay
Community Outreach, To be assigned
Downtown Evergreen Economic Development (DEED) Representative, Gail Riley
Education, Georgia Dickey
Fundraising, Joe Glasmire
Fundraising, Bob Zavodsky
Grants, Candy Decker
Marketing and Public Relations, Tricia Rosenthal
Nominating, Bill Slaughter
Permanent Sculpture Collection, Liz Peyton
Sculpture Walk, Anna Marie Nelson
Sponsorships, Bob Zavodsky
©2013 Sculpture Evergreen. All rights reserved.
Site Design by Acme Graphic Design • Powered by DuckBytes