About sculpture evergreen

Our Mission

The mission of Sculpture Evergreen (SE) is to cultivate a program of sculpture acquisition, exhibition, education, and other public activities to beautify our communities and encourage the expression and appreciation of sculpture. SE serves the greater Evergreen area, including the communities of Evergreen, Bergen Park, Kittredge, Marshdale, and Indian Hills.

A Historical Perspective: Permanent Sculptures and the Sculpture Walk

Sculpture Evergreen was incorporated in November 1994 as Art for the Mountain Community, with the purpose of placing high-quality enduring sculpture in public places in the mountain area of Jefferson County. SE’s first project was to commission a large, original piece of sculpture to be placed outside the Evergreen Lake House. “Spirits of the Land” by Madeline Wiener was selected and installed in 1996. In 1997 two matching limestone benches with a bronze plaque acknowledging major donors, including the Scientific and Cultural Facilities District (SCFD), were installed. Since then, SE has added more than 40 sculptures to its permanent collection.

Happy Dance by Richard Pankratz
Happy Dance by Richard Pankratz
The 2 of Us
The Two of Us by Yenny Cocq

In 1999 SE began a new venture, the annual Sculpture Walk. This yearly competition brings a lively diversity of high-quality sculpture to the mountain area. Artwork is selected from many submissions, and then loaned to SE for a year. Each of the artists whose work is selected is paid an honorarium, and awards are given to those voted by the public as the favorites. A trail map showing the locations of the permanent sculptures and Sculpture Walk art is produced each year and widely distributed throughout the greater Evergreen area. A map of the sculptures is also available on the SE website. Each of these sculptures is for sale, and some have become part of the permanent collection, thanks to donations from individuals and others. SE has also received valuable grant support from the (SCFD) and Colorado Creative Industries (CCI). SE is also indebted to the generous property owners who allow sculptures to be placed in accessible and scenic locations throughout the community.

In 2010, a “Guide by Cell” feature was added to the sculptures to enable viewers with cell phones to access a self-guided tour. Each sculpture has a plaque with the Guide by Cell number (303-562-0435), and a unique number such as 6 or 101. The tour provides a narrative about each sculpture, the artist’s inspiration, what to look for and why.

Making Sculpture Evergreen A Success

SE continues to thrive because of the dedicated support of its many volunteers, including past and present members of the Board and Advisory Board. SE is also grateful for the many community members who donate their time and resources to purchase, maintain, and share our permanent and temporary sculptures for the community’s benefit. Many of the sculptures now on display are the result of generous contributions from anonymous donors and others who believe in public art. For more information and to donate to Sculpture Evergreen, please go to our Support page.

Meet our team

Sculpture Evergreen Officers

Tricia Rosenthal – President
Joe Glasmire – Vice President
Bill Slaughter – Treasurer
Barb Chiarella – Secretary

Sculpture Evergreen Board of Directors

Debbie Atwood
Barb Chiarella
Joe Glasmire
Sue Greenwell
Rhiannon Knaggs-Sullivan
Quade Paul
T Robinson
Tricia Rosenthal
Ann Simpson
Bill Slaughter
Kristin Witt
Bob Zavodsky

Sculpture Evergreen Advisory Board

Susan Beaton
Bob Benson
Sydney Bernard-Hogling
Brewster Caesar
Becky Cunningham
Carol Dobbs
Peter Eggers
Jim Kreider
Karen Lindsay
Harold Linke
Joan Manchester
Eric Maule
Pat Newman
Anna Marie Nelson
Al Patten
Gail Riley
Minor Scott
Sam Smith
Jane Stewart
Tom Ware
Paul Cockrel (Legal Advisor)

Scroll to top